Компаунды поликарбоната2019-06-28T09:27:09+02:00

Системы компаундирования для компаундов поликарбоната

Компаунды на основе поликарбоната относятся к группе технических пластмасс. Часто используется также термин «инженерные пластики». Он описывает, главным образом, основные сильные стороны и, следовательно, области применения: в технических деталях ценится очень хорошая ударная вязкость в широком температурном диапазоне непрерывного применения, в то время как превосходный коэффициент прозрачности обеспечивает возможность широкого оптического применения, а также применения носителей данных. В строительстве ПС используются в противовес альтернативным материалам из-за их хороших свойств негорючести.

Типовые применения

Поликарбонат был впервые описан в конце 19-го века, но в промышленных масштабах начал производиться фирмами Bayer (сегодня Covestro) и General Electric (сегодня Sabic) лишь с 1950-х гг. Позже к ним присоединились и другие производители. Наряду с упомянутыми выше основными свойствами значение приобрели также следующие свойства: очень хорошая электроизоляционная способность, стерилизуемость и сочетаемость с другими полимерными материалами, такими как АБС (акрилонитрилбутадиенстирол), АСА (акрилонитрил-стирол-акрилэфир) или ПБТ (полибутилентерефталат), к индивидуальным смесям. Таким образом, применение поликарбоната (ПК) приобрело большое значение в электронике/электротехнике, медицинской технике, авто- и авиапромышленности и др.

Требования к обработке поликарбонатных компаундов

Система компаундирования играет важную роль во всех материалах поликарбоната (ПК): связующие поликарбоната представлены чаще всего в порошко- или крошкообразной форме и превращаются в грануляты в системе компаундирования на этапе компаундирования с добавлением компонентов присадки, как, например, в прозрачных прессовочных массах. Во многих случаях добавляются армирующие материалы, огнезащитные средства, краски или, как уже упоминалось, компоненты смеси. Компаундирование этих материалов становится соответствующе непростым и требует индивидуальных решений. Таким образом, необходимо максимально щадяще расплавлять полимерные компоненты, отлично распределять огнезащитные средства и напитывать армирующие волокна таким образом, чтобы достигнуть желаемых механических свойств.

Эти высокие требования отлично решаются хорошо продуманными методами компаундирования. КО-кнетер Buss может очень хорошо использовать свои специфические преимущества в прямом сравнении с альтернативными системами компаундирования: крайне однородные и умеренные скорости сдвига дают минимальное пожелтение, поскольку система не формирует горячие точки. Для прозрачных составов это играет главную роль. Свойство КО-кнетера Buss безукоризненно обрабатывать широкий спектр вязкости позволяет очень широкие и надежные окна процесса. Таким образом, ПК-смеси, усиленные, огнестойкие или высоковязкие составы, а также их комбинации обычно могут быть обработаны в большинстве случаев с помощью одной геометрии волн.

Детали автомобильной фары из поликарбоната (ПК)

Посредством двухуровневой системы КО-кнетера Buss компаундирование и стадия возрастания давления последовательно отделяются друг от друга. Таким образом, стадии процесса могут быть оптимизированы независимо друг от друга. Для ПК-компаундов в качестве устройства для нарастания давления с целью гранулирования чаще всего используется шестеренный насос. Раскладной корпус системы компаундирования и КО-кнетера Buss обеспечивает быстрый доступ и высокую доступность системы. Модульная и соответственно корректируемая конструкция всей установки и широко подкрепленная экспертиза процессов Buss делают КО-кнетер Buss отличным выбором для компаундирования сложных поликарбонатов.

Типовая схема расположения оборудования для компаундирования поликарбоната (ПК)

Типовая схема расположения оборудования для систем компаундирования поликарбоната (ПК)

Системы компаундирования BUSS дают следующие характерные преимущества

  • Высокие уровни наполнения достижимы
    Технология BUSS позволяет использовать доли наполнителя до 90%, разделяя их на 2-3 позиции подачи от элементов питания, таких как боковые питающие шнеки, гравиметрическую подачу наполнителя, обратную вентиляцию и отличную эффективность подачи. Умеренные скорости сдвига ко-кнетера позволяют без особых усилий обращаться с высокой вязкостью, возникающей при высоком уровне наполнения.
  • Интенсивное смешивание при низком подводе удельной энергии
    Многолопастные компаундеры BUSS последнего поколения достигают более высокой эффективности смешения при более низком в совокупности на 15-40 % подводе удельной энергии. Это объясняется большим количеством циклов смешивания, оптимально подобранным под соответствующую зону процесса. Необходимая для плавления энергия подается в виде энергии сдвига почти лишь исключительно механически (диссипативно).
  • Узкий спектр температур
    При помощи ко-кнетера BUSS благодаря равномерным, умеренным скоростям сдвига можно соблюдать узкий, определенный диапазон температур и избегать температурных пиков других систем. Это обеспечивает возможность точного соблюдения узкого спектра температур по всей технологической длине.
  • Отсос летучих веществ
    Летучие вещества удаляются, как правило, при помощи вакуум-отсоса в конце технологического блока или дополнительно в разгрузочном устройстве. Большое количество циклов смешивания, сдвиги и перемещение слоев технологии ко-кнетера BUSS обеспечивает непрерывное восстановление поверхности смеси. Таким образом, можно высокоэффективно минимизировать занесенный воздух или летучие вещества.
  • Контроль температуры в любом положении болта
    Болты термодатчика, которые могут быть установлены в любом положении вдоль технологического блока, обеспечивают возможность оптимального контроля температуры, точно контролируя предельные температуры соответствующей смеси. Высокая точность обеспечивается тем, что болты термодатчика постоянно окружены расплавленной смесью, а влияние термостатирования корпуса можно практически не принимать во внимание. Это является важной составляющей онлайн-контроля качества.

Больше информации

Загрузки

  • COMPEO
  • Buss Kneader technology
This website uses cookies. We use cookies in order to determine the frequency of use and number of users of the pages, to analyse the behaviour of page use, but also to make our offer more customer-friendly. We distinguish between cookies that are necessary (without consent) and cookies that require consent (third party cookies). Detailed information on the use of cookies on this website can be found by clicking on "More information". You can use the "Further settings" link to decide which cookies requiring consent are to be activated. If you click on "Agree", all cookies - including those requiring agreement - will be activated. You can revoke your consent and deactivate the use of cookies requiring consent. More information Further settings Agree

Third party cookies

Select which third-party cookies you wish to accept here. Please note that if you do not accept cookies, features on the website may be restricted. Please visit the third party websites for more information on their use of cookies. If you have decided not to grant or revoke your consent to the use of cookies requiring your consent, you will only be provided with those functions of our website whose use we can guarantee without these cookies. You can subsequently change your settings on our data protection page. We use the following third-party cookies:

Google Analytics

Google Analytics helps us understand how visitors interact with our websites by collecting and reporting information anonymously. We would like to point out that Google Analytics has been extended by the code "gat._anonymizeIp();" in order to guarantee an anonymous collection of IP addresses (so-called IP masking).

Polycarbonate Compounds 2018-07-31T12:44:14+00:00

Polycarbonate Compounds

Polycarbonate (PC) based compounds belong to the technical plastics sector, often known as Engineering Plastics due to their main strengths and respective applications: technical components with excellent impact strength over a wide range of continuous operating temperatures whose excellent transparency enables widespread optical and data medium applications. PC based compounds are also a preferred construction material due to their good flame retardant properties.

Typical applications

Polycarbonate was first mentioned at the end of the nineteenth century, but not produced on a large scale until the 1950s, by Bayer (now Covestro) and General Electric (now Sabic), followed later by other manufacturers. Apart from the aforementioned advantages, great significance is now attached to the following properties as well: excellent electrical insulation, sterilisability and combinability with other plastics such as ABS, ASA and PBT into customized blends accordingly. PC based compounds have therefore become very important for electronics and electrical applications as well as in medical technology, the automotive and aircraft industries.

Compounding requirements

Compounding is critically important for all PC based materials. PC ingredients, mostly in powder or chip form, are compounded together with additive components into pellets such as for transparent moulding compounds. In many cases reinforcement agents, flame retardants, dyes or the aforementioned blend partners are also added. Compounding these materials is therefore very demanding and requires customized solutions such as some of the following. Polymer components must be melted as gently as possible, flame retardants have to be perfectly distributed, and reinforcement fibres must be added and processed in such a way as to optimize mechanical properties.

All these requirements are well mastered by sophisticated process technology accordingly. The Buss Kneader can make much better use of its strengths here than other systems. Thanks to extremely uniform and moderate shear rates, yellowing is minimized because no hotspots occur. This is critically important for transparent formulations. Moreover the Buss Kneader’s characteristically perfect handling of wide viscosity ranges enables very wide and dependable operating windows. PC blends, reinforced, flame retardant or high-viscosity formulations and other combinations can usually be compounded without any change in screw geometry.

The Buss Kneader’s two-stage system clearly separates the compounding and pressure build-up stages so that each stage can be independently optimized. Pressure build-up for pelletizing PC compounds is usually by gear pump.

The hinged housing of the Buss Kneader ensures fast and easy access for high system availability. Together with broadly based Buss process expertise, the modular design and therefore adaptable arrangement of the entire compounding line make the Buss Kneader first choice for complex polycarbonate production, which has provided maximum investment security for decades.

Typical plant layout for PC

Typical plant layout for Polycarbonate (PC) compounding systems

BUSS compounding systems offer the following specific benefits

  • High filler loadings
    Filler loadings up to 90% are possible with Buss technology thanks to 2 or 3 feed openings, separate gravimetric feeding of filler, removal of trapped air by back venting, and excellent conveying efficiency. The moderate shear rates allow perfect handling of the highest viscosities at such high loadings.

  • Intensive mixing at low specific energy input
    Buss multiple-flight Kneaders of the latest generation achieve better mixing at 15-40% lower overall specific energy input. This is because of an increased number of mixing cycles according to the needs of each individual process section. The energy for melting and mixing is provided almost entirely mechanically and optimally dissipated according to the imparted shear rates.

  • Narrow temperature range
    A narrow temperature range can be maintained with a Buss Kneader due to consistent and moderate shear rates. Therefore, the typically excessive temperature peaks of alternative systems are eliminated. This enables precise temperature control. Temperatures are monitored by thermocouples inserted in the mixing pins, which are surrounded by polymer along the barrel.

  • Degassing of volatiles
    A narrow temperature range can be maintained with a Buss Kneader due to consistent and moderate shear rates. Therefore, the typically excessive temperature peaks of alternative systems are eliminated. This enables precise temperature control. Temperatures are monitored by thermocouples inserted in the mixing pins, which are surrounded by polymer along the barrel.

  • Temperature monitoring at any position
    Temperature control within the limits of the compound can be monitored by replacing mixing pins with thermocouple pins anywhere along the process section. Accuracy is assured since the thermocouples are constantly surrounded by molten compound. This feature enables online quality control.

Learn More

Downloads

  • COMPEO
  • Buss Kneader technology
  • Laboratory Kneader MX 30